Tuesday, June 14, 2005

Here they are

Here are the 20 Senators who 1) refused to co-sponsor the anti-lynching resolution passed yesterday, and 2) refused a roll-call vote so they'd have to put their name on the resolution.

Lamar Alexander (R-TN)
Robert Bennett (R-UT)
Christopher Bond (R-MO)
Jim Bunning (R-KY)
Conrad Burns (R-MT)
Saxby Chambliss (R-GA)
Thad Cochran (R-MS)
Kent Conrad (D-ND)
John Cornyn (R-TX)
Michael Crapo (R-ID)
Michael Enzi (R-WY)
Chuck Grassley (R-IA)
Judd Gregg (R-NH)
Orrin Hatch (R-UT)
Trent Lott (R-MS)
Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)
Richard Shelby (R-AL)
John Sununu (R-NH)
Craig Thomas (R-WY)
George Voinovich (R-OH)

19 Republicans and 1 Democrat, a real wall of shame.

Thanks to kos


Anonymous Brandi said...

I like the name Crapo. It suits his voting record. Aside from being bigots, did any of them give reason as to why they would disgrace themselves?

9:11 PM, June 14, 2005  
Blogger Randall said...

At least Sen Conrad came around today, wisely leaving only Republicans as "Pro-Lynching". Early this morning, after the Kos post, thousands of Kossacks started calling the Senator's office. (As did I. I think it made a difference.

9:55 PM, June 14, 2005  
Anonymous commentator said...

The vote was unanimous; it's been passed. The Senate has apologized for the actions and filibusters of southern Democrats. It's time to move on.

7:06 AM, June 15, 2005  
Blogger Randall said...

Thanks for your comment.

No it's not time to move on. It is time to shine the light on the darkness that is the far right. We have the power to do this and it is imperative for the survival of the democracy that we engage at this time at every soft spot we can find. This certainly includes the pro lynching crowd's obstruction of reconciliation.

2:36 AM, June 17, 2005  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home